I love my mother-in-law.

That’s not a lead-in. It’s really true. But this week, I love her for giving me this recipe. Apparently it’s one of my husband’s all-time favorites, a fact of which I was unaware until just a few weeks ago. Anyway, tonight I had everything on hand to fix it, and while it works its magic in the oven, I have a few free minutes to share it with you. It’s yummy, and best of all, it’s not an exact science.

So, here’s the recipe for Chicken Divan. I’m not sure how it got its name, though my theory is that you’ll need a divan handy when you faint after tasting it. And if you’re thinking, oh, woe betide me, I hate broccoli, feel free to substitute spinach. Just make sure that whatever you use, it’s as free of moisture as possible before you add it to the pan. Oh, yeah, it’s easy, too. 😉

You’ll need:

6 oz. shredded longhorn, Colby, or Cheddar cheese
6 chicken breasts, cooked and shredded
1 bunch of broccoli or 1 small bag frozen broccoli, cooked, drained, and patted dry
1 tsp. curry powder (I use a very generous teaspooon)
1 tsp. lemon juice
1 cup mayo
2 cans cream of mushroom soup

Layer chicken and broccoli in a casserole dish or 9 x 13 pan. Whisk together mayo, curry powder, soup, and lemon juice. Pour over broccoli and chicken and mix it all up a bit. Top with cheese. Bake at 350 for about 35 minutes. Serve over rice. Enjoy. Bask in the glowing praise you receive. And give me, and my mother-in-law, our props.

