So, I hinted at good things afoot in an earlier post. After years of bitching and being recalcitrant and not feeling like making changes, we are on a good path. I realized a while back that I didn’t want to go to the doctor for what I knew was a sinus infection because I had gained 10 pounds since the last time I was there. I know that’s stupid, but it is what it is. So I decided to make one good attempt at finally taking off the extra pounds I’ve gathered since I was, well, 5. I’m extremely fortunate that I don’t have a huge amount to lose. I want to take off about 60-75 pounds. It wouldn’t put me at my ideal weight, but I would be damn close, and it would make the hugest difference for me. Those pounds are what have kept me from being excited about my life, about my interactions with people, about confidence in myself. And we all know I’m far too good for that shit.

So I put both Sean and myself on the South Beach Diet. He was game, too, and I think that’s what has contributed to success so far. This is the only time we have tried a diet and haven’t wanted to cheat. I finally went to the doctor today for that sinus infection (more on that later), and learned I have lost 12 pounds. This is the first, strictest phase of the diet, which means we’ve been eating protein and vegetables for the last 11 days. It’s been harder on Sean, but he’s staying true, and those 12 pounds  have motivated me to keep going the best I can. And so, I figure more people who know we’re doing this means more people who can guilt us into reaching the goal. It’s time. Finally. Woot.

